Share This Post

Featured / Featured Slider

FG Bans Smoking In 9 Public Places Accross The Country

FG Bans  Smoking In 9 Public Places Accross The Country

The Federal Government has listed 9 public places where smoking has been banned across the country.

This was announced through a communiqué from the ministry of Health, citing Section 9 of the Nigeria Tobacco Control Act 2015.

The NTC Act 2015 stipulates that offenders are liable to a N50, 000 fine or/and at least six months imprisonment once convicted

It also stated that, “the Federal Ministry of Health is committed to the fight to ensure a tobacco-free Nigeria, and will in the weeks and months ahead actively collaborate with law enforcement agencies to ensure enforcement of the Act, and with the National Assembly to ensure that necessary supporting regulation is passed.”

This comes after the Ministry of health launched the Clean Air Campaign, which it explained is being carried out in a bid to protect the right of citizens to health, safety and life.

According to the ministry, the campaign is in collaboration with World Health Organisation, Civil Society Organisations, the Cancer Society of Nigeria, Nigerian Centre for Disease Control, ONE Campaign, and the Tobacco Free Kids based in Washington DC, United States.

The public places where the ministry has banned smoking across the country, include: child care facilities, Plazas, health care facilities, educational facilities, stadia, playgrounds/amusement parks, public parks (gardens), restaurants/bars, public and transportation parks .

Facebook Comments

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Lost Password