Share This Post

Featured / Main Slider / News / Politics

PDP National Convention: Uche Secondus Elected As PDP National Chairman

PDP National Convention: Uche Secondus Elected As PDP National Chairman

Prince Uche Secondus has emerged has the national chairman of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

The 2017 elective National Convention was held Saturday December 9 – Sunday 10, 2017, at the Eagles Square, Central Business Area, Abuja. The election was not without drama as most candidates from the southwest withdrew and endorsed a consensus candidate in Professor Adeniran.

However, Prince Uche Secondus  got the most votes and thus has been declared the winner of the Peoples Democratic Party’s National Chairmanship election. Prince Uche Secondus served as acting chairman of the PDP National Working Committee from 2015 to 2016 and its believed to be backed by Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike and other PDP governors.

Mr. Secondus defeated Professor Tunde Adeniran and Raymond Dokpesi to emerge victorious at the party’s controversial national convention which commenced on Saturday at the Eagles Square in Abuja.

The results of the elections, which were announced by the immediate past Governor of Benue State and Chairman of the electoral committee, Mr. Gabriel Suswam showed that Secondus polled 2,000 votes, compared to the 231 votes secured by Professor Adeniran and the 66 votes Dokpesi got in the election.

Shortly after he was declared the winner of the election, around 3:30 am on Sunday, Mr Secondus was sworn in.

However, while it was believed that there was a gang up against the southwest, Bayelsa Governor Seriake Dickson dismissed conspiracy claim against the Yoruba as claimed by former deputy national chairman of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Chief Olabode George that the party appears now bent on self-destruction by allowing money moguls to dictate the choice of its leaders.

Chief Olabode George withdrew last minute from the People Democratic Party (PDP) National Convention even after being cleared to contest by screening committee for the party’s chairmanship claiming the process was fraudulent and has been influenced by money-bags.

His sentiments were further boosted by some PDP members from the Southwest calling the entire process fraudulent with Professor Adeniran calling for its cancellation.

After voting commenced in the election, the process turned controversial when a ‘Unity List’ allegedly compiled by governors was circulated to some delegates. The list contained the names of purported ‘unity candidates’ identified for delegates to vote, a development which Adeniran and Dokpesi said amounted to rigging.

Winners that emerged at the 2017 PDP National Convention as declared by former Governor of Benue State and Chairman of the electoral committee, Mr. Gabriel Suswam:

1. National Chairman – Uche Secondus (Rivers, South-South).

2. Deputy National Chairman, South – Yemi Akinwonmi (Ogun, South West); unopposed.

3. Deputy National Chairman, North – Senator Gamawa Babawo Garba (Bauchi, North East); defeated six others.

4. National Secretary – Senator Umaru Ibrahim Tsauri (Katsina, North-West); defeated others

5. Deputy National Secretary – Emmanuel Agbo (Benue, North Central); defeated four others

6. National Organising Secretary – Austin Akobundu (Abia, South East); defeated two others

7. Deputy National Organising Secretary – Hassan Yakubu (Nasarawa, North Central); unopposed

8. National Publicity Secretary – Kola Ologbondiyan (Kogi, North Central); defeated four others

9. Deputy National Publicity Secretary – Diran Odeyemi (Osun, South West); defeated two others

10. National Legal Adviser – Emmanuel Enoidem (Akwa Ibom, South-South); defeated two others.

11. Deputy National Legal Adviser – Ahmed Bello Liman (Sokoto, North West); Unopposed.

12. National Youth Leader Udeh Okoye (Enugu State, South East); defeated three others.

13. Deputy National Youth Leader – Umar Babangida Maina (Adamawa, North East); defeated Yahaya Salisu

14. National Women Leader Mariya Waziri (Kebbi, North West); defeated one contestant.

15. Deputy National Women Leader – Umoru Hadizat (Edo, South-South); defeated three others.

16. Deputy National Auditor – Miss Amina Arong (Cross River, South-South); unopposed

17. National Auditor – Adamu Mustafa (Yobe, North East); unopposed

18. National Treasurer – Aribisala Adewale (Ekiti, South-West); unopposed

19. Deputy National Treasurer – Wada Masu (Kano, North West); defeated one contestant

20. National Financial Secretary – Abdullahi Husseini Maibasara (Niger, North Central)

21. Deputy National Financial Secretary – Irona Alphonsus Gerald (Imo, South-East); defeated on contestant

Facebook Comments

Share This Post

1 Comment

  1. Profile gravatar of Temitayo

    Hope these people have sense, its not just about being in power but the will to do what is right


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Lost Password